Starbucks: 3110 W 11th Ave Eugene, OR 97402

Let’s face it, coffee houses are a dime a dozen anymore.  As far as I’m concerned, coffee is coffee because it has an adverse effect on me, so I can’t drink it.  Now, hot tea and hot chocolate, that’s another matter.  I love my tea, due to being half British, and there’s nothing like hot chocolate on a cold day.  The new Starbucks on W. 11th has all of it.  It is in a very ugly and difficult to get to drive-thru, and I’m still not convinced it is worth the trouble of crossing a busy four-lane street during the three rush hour times.  The one thing I will say is the employees are friendly, happy, and polite. They have never gotten the order wrong, and one young man went out of his way to try to replicate the hot white chocolate I used to get at Dunkin’ Donuts in NYC, since the last Dunkin’ Donuts on the West Coast closed in 2008.  I like the people who work at this Starbucks, but I’m not a fan of corporation or their practices.

P.S. What’s with the new logo?  It looks like a mermaid with two tails trying to flash the hang ten sign!

8 out of 10 stars

Image

Leave a Reply

